Please donate to help save PopMatters. We are moving to WordPress in December out of necessity and need your help.

Neil Davidge - "Sleepwalking" feat. Emi Green (video) (Premiere)

British producer and film soundtrack composer Neil Davidge steps into the limelight with his first ever solo record, Slo Light, coming out February 25th via The End Records.

Neil Davidge has had a storied career thus far, best known for his production and co-writing work with the hugely influential Massive Attack. He has also composed the music for several films, including Trouble the Water and Push, while handling production duties for artists as diverse as David Bowie, Damon Albarn, Mos Def, and Snoop Dogg. Slo Light releases next week with vocal turns by the likes of Sandie Shaw and Cate Le Bon, among others. To give you that first taste, we are premiering the video for the record's first single "Sleepwalking" featuring vox from Emi Green.

Meanwhile, Davidge tells us the story behind the song: "The track felt like the theme to an old British TV thriller series with shades of Louisiana voodoo. Emi wrote the perfect tale of dysfunctional love to accompany it. I really struggle describing the music I make. I don’t think in words, I think in pictures, textures, smells, it’s a feeling, it’s gut instinct, it’s why I make music and don’t write lyrics. Emi wrote a fittingly tortured story of dysfunctional love that summed up what I felt about this track.”


01. Slo Light featuring Stephonik Youth

02. Gallant Foxes featuring Cate Le Bon

03. How Was Your Day featuring Karima Francis

04. Home From Home featuring Low Roar

05. They Won’t Know featuring Stephonik Youth

06. That Fever featuring Claire Tchaikowski

07. Riot Pictures featuring Sandie Shaw

08. Zero One Zero featuring Stephonik Youth

09. Sleepwalking featuring Emi Green

10. Anyone Laughing featuring Claire Tchaikowski

11. Discovering The Universe That Fever ANHM version (bonus track)

12. Hummingbird featuring Patrick Duff (iTunes exclusive bonus track)

13. Sensor featuring Jhelisa Anderson (Digipak bonus track)

14. Forty Days In The Wilderness featuring Patrick Duff (12" Vinyl bonus track)

15. Slo Light Davidge vs Rob Smith's Lovas Remix (12" Vinyl bonus track

16. Sensor Davidge vs Quadrant, Kid Hops & Iris Remix (12" Vinyl bonus track)

17. Sleepwalking Davidge vs Michael Mortlock Remix (12" Vinyl bonus track)

18. Hummingbird Instrumental (12" Vinyl bonus track)

Please Donate to Help Save PopMatters

PopMatters have been informed by our current technology provider that we have until December to move off their service. We are moving to WordPress and a new host, but we really need your help to fund the move and further development.





© 1999-2020 PopMatters Media, Inc. All rights reserved. PopMatters is wholly independent, women-owned and operated.

Collapse Expand Reviews

Collapse Expand Features

PM Picks
Collapse Expand Pm Picks

© 1999-2020 All rights reserved.
PopMatters is wholly independent, women-owned and operated.