Gov’t Mule – ‘Money’ (audio)

Pink Floyd gets the jam band blues treatment in Gov't Mule's latest live album, Dark Side of the Mule.

Lost in the lore and progressive psychedelia of their segmented history, Pink Floyd are rarely if ever mentioned alongside their British blues-rock counterparts. Named after two famous blues musicians and early live shows including blues songs, Pink Floyd only hinted at traditional blues in name (see the Syd Barrett-penned “Jugband Blues”). Yet there is no denying the blues influence David Gilmour brought to the band, from “More Blues” which appeared on 1969’s More to his many Stratocaster solos during and following the Roger Waters era.

Following the release of The Endless River, reportedly Pink Floyd’s final album, leave it to American jam band Gov’t Mule to remind us of this overlooked musical element in Pink Floyd’s sound. Celebrating their twentieth year together, Warren Haynes, Matt Abts, Jorgen Carlsson and Danny Louis will issue a series of live archival releases, beginning with Dark Side of the Mule, a 90-minute collection of Pink Floyd covers due out on 12 January 2015. Recorded during the band’s Halloween 2008 show in Boston, Massachusetts, the newly-mixed and mastered songs will be issued as a one-CD version, a three-CD/one-DVD package of the band’s full three-hour performance and as a double vinyl.

The track listing for the standard, one-CD version includes:

1. One Of These Days

2. Fearless

3. Pigs On The Wing, Pt. 2

4. Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Pts. 1 – 5

5. Have A Cigar

6. Breathe (In The Air)

7. Time

8. Money

9. Comfortably Numb

10. Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Pts. 6 – 9

11. Wish You Were Here

Watch Gov’t Mule perform Dark Side of the Moon’s “Money” below to hear the blues in Pink Floyd.