Bjørn Torske - "Eight Years" (audio)

With herky-jerky drums and layered pad synths, Bjørn Torske's "Eight Years" is an example of the early Norwegian disco scene that spawned artists like Todd Terje.

At the end of January, two works by the pioneering Norwegian electronic musician Bjørn Torske, Nedi Myra and Trøbbel, will be reissued on CD and vinyl. This will be the first such treatment received by each record; both saw small releases in 1998 and 2001, respectively. Torske's work is notable for its importance in the lineage of electronic music in his home country. Fellow Norwegian electronic musician Todd Terje, whose 2014 LP It's Album Time! is ranked 34th on PopMatters' Best Albums of 2014, says of Torske, "Nedi Myra was one of the first house albums I bought, or at least that´s what I THOUGHT it was. Weird futuro-bossa and foggy disco-not-really-disco was more like it. And for years I actually thought that was Bjørn on the cover, and that he lived out in the woods with his guitar... tsk tsk.”

Stream the Nedi Myra track "Eight Years" below:

The Nedi Myra and Trøbbel reissues are out on 27 January via Smalltown Supersound.

Artwork for Nedi Myra:

Artwork for Trøbbel:

PM Picks

© 1999-2020 All rights reserved.
PopMatters is wholly independent, women-owned and operated.