192423-drivin-n-cryin-roll-away-the-song-audio-premiere

Drivin’ N’ Cryin’ – “Roll Away the Song” (audio) (Premiere)

The legendary Atlanta indie rockers Drivin' N' Cryin invite listeners to "Roll Away the Song" with their latest vinyl-only release, Best of Songs.

Between June 2012 and January 2014, the reputable Atlanta indie rock outfit Drivin’ N’ Cryin’ released four EPs: Songs From the Laundromat, Songs About Cars, Space and the Ramones; Songs From the Psychedelic Time Clock; and Songs for the Turntable. The band’s newest collection, the forthcoming vinyl release Best of Songs, brings these EPs together, a spin on the aesthetic of the ’70s-vintage K-tel greatest hits album. The cover even looks slightly faded, as if it’s been sitting in a dusty record shop stack for years.

Below you can exclusively stream the tune “Roll Away the Song”, a rollicking number nicely accented with twelve-string guitar and some wicked soloing. The chord progression of the song, which brings Led Zeppelin’s “Over the Hills and Far Away” to mind, gives it a classic rock vibe.

Frontman Kevn Kinney describes “Roll Away the Song” thusly: “Requiem of a Traveling Rock Band… or, how to pretend what’s happening isn’t and what isn’t is… in the key of D. Or, how to fold a fitted sheet.”

Best of Songs, a vinyl-only release, will be out on 12 May via Plowboy.

Upcoming Drivin’ N’ Cryin’ tour dates:

Tues., April 21 — Sheffield, UK — Greystones

Wed., April 22 — London, UK — Boston Music Room

Thurs., April 23 — Newcastle, UK — The Cluny

Sat., April 25 — Hengelo, Netherlands — Heartland Festival @ Metropool Poppodium

Sun., April 26 — The Hague, Netherlands — Life I Live Music Festival

Mon., April 27 — Bergen Op Zoom, Netherlands — Gebouw-T

Tues., April 28 — Amsterdam, Netherlands — Instore TBD

Wed., April 29 — Tilburg, Netherlands — Paradox

Thurs., April 30 — Nijmegen — Merleyn

Fri., May 1 — Hoorn, Netherlands — Peticantus

Sat., May 2 — Gronigen, Netherlands — R&B Night

Wed., May 6 — Ponte Vedra, Florida — Live at the Lot @ Players Gold Championship

Thurs., May 7 — Orlando, Florida — The Abbey

Fri., May 8 — Savannah, Georgia — Coach’s Corner

Fri., May 9 — Isle of Palms, South Carolina — Windjammer

Sat., May 10 — Myrtle Beach, South Carolina — The Boathouse

Sat., June 13 — Atlanta, Georgia — Oakland Cemetery Benefit Concert

Sat., July 4 — Tuckasegee, North Carolina — Bear Lake Reserve

Call for essays, reviews, interviews, and list features for publication consideration with PopMatters.
Call for essays, reviews, interviews, and list features.
SUBMIT SUBMIT