Photo: Michael Bearpark

Tim Bowness Announces New Album, ‘Stupid Things That Mean The World’

The No-Man singer/songwriter Tim Bowness is following up his 2014 solo LP Abandoned Dancehall Dreams rather swiftly with Stupid Things That Mean The World.

Tim Bowness, best known as the vocalist and lyricist behind the duo No-Man (the other half of which is Porcupine Tree‘s Steven Wilson), has just announced his new solo LP, the endearingly titled Stupid Things That Mean The World. This comes not long after the release of Abandoned Dancehall Dreams, his 2014 solo long player.

For Stupid Things, Bowness is joined by a host of players, most centrally the members of the No-Man live band from recent years (Stephen Bennett, Michael Bearpark and Andrew Booker), Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree), Bruce Soord (The Pineapple Thief), and Pat Mastelotto (King Crimson).

Bowness said in announcing the record, “If Abandoned Dancehall Dreams was something of a bolder and more dynamic extension of No-Man’s Schoolyard Ghosts, I’d say that the new album is something of a bolder and more dynamic extension of Abandoned Dancehall Dreams. It’s a logical step forward with some surprises, I hope.”

Stupid Things That Mean The World

1. The Great Electric Teenage Dream (3.58)

2. Sing To Me (5.46)

3. Where You’ve Always Been (4.07)

4. Stupid Things That Mean The World (3.05)

5. Know That You Were Loved (6.44)

6. Press Reset (3.54)

7. All These Escapes (3.06)

8. Everything You’re Not (3.40)

9. Everything But You (1.12)

10. Soft William (1.40)

11. At The End Of The Holiday (4.58)

Produced by Tim Bowness and mixed by Bruce Soord

The album was recorded between October 2014 and April 2015 at various studios.

Stupid Things That Mean The World is out on 17 July. For more on the album including pre-order information, visit Bowness’ page on Burning Shed, the specialist online retailer that he founded.

Watch the video to “The Warm-Up Man Forever”, the lead cut off of Abandoned Dancehall Dreams: