Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds - 7 May 2015, New York

Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds are rocking out on an exciting US tour in support of their new album Chasing Yesterday.

Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds

An Evening w/ Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds

City: New York
Venue: Webster Hall
Date: 2015-05-07

Noel Gallagher is known to have a no-holds barred attitude in conversations. At one point during his show at Webster Hall on May 7th, he told the quiet, rapt and possible fearful audience, "For fuck's sake, say something!" But perhaps it wasn't that they were shy or afraid, though he had been smart with the crowd in Toronto apparently, it was that they were saving their voices to sing along with the frontman and his ace flock of "birds", Tim Smith on lead guitar, Russ Pritchard on bass, Mikey Rowe on keyboards and Jeremy Stacey on drums, plus a three piece horn section. Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds have just released their second album Chasing Yesterday on Gallagher's label Sour Mash Records. Their show is a powerful evening of rock that combines material from both NGHFB albums and some of the now-classic Oasis material into an awesome sounding show that I wished could have been longer. (The setlist appears to remain the same throughout the tour.)

Gallagher is a straight forward rocker who avoids tedious tomfoolery and lets the music speak for itself. Gallagher knows how to craft a song and he knows how to perform. On occasion, he switched been acoustic and electric guitars, notably between the Oasis song, "Champagne Supernova", and his current single, "Ballad of the Mighty I" and there was a backdrop of visuals behind the band, but this hardly felt like pandering. The fans enjoyed every minute of the great live music like "The Death of You and Me", performed with the horn section (Gallagher didn't even know their name they were so new to the tour), and new album highlight, the timeless sound of "Riverman". With songs like this, even if I were to exclude the tremendous rush experienced by of singing-along with a thousand people for set-closer "Don't Look Back in Anger", I would say the High Flying Birds are a must-see show for rock music fans.

"Bob Gruen, you fucking legend." - Noel Gallagher

Tour dates:

May 10th New Orleans, LA @ Civic Theatre

May 13th Houston, TX @ House of Blues

May 14th Dallas, TX @ Majestic Theater

May 16th San Diego, CA @ Humphrey's Concert By The Bay

May 18th San Francisco, CA @ The Warfield

May 20th Los Angeles, CA @ Orpheum Theatre

May 22nd Las Vegas, NV @ The Joint at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino

May 29th Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theater

May 30th Milwaukee, WI @ Pabst Theatre

May 31st Detroit, MI @ Royal Oak Theatre

June 2nd Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues

June 4th Washington, D.C. @ Lincoln Theater

June 6th Boston, MA @ Opera House

June 7th New York, NY @ Governor's Ball Festival


12 June Warsaw Poland National Stadium

18 June Scheeßel Germany Eichenring

19 June Tuttlingen Flugplatz

20 June Hilvarenbeek Netherlands Beekse Bergen

26 June St. Gallen Switzerland Sittertobel St. Gallen

27 June Werchter Belgium Werchter Festival Grounds

4 July London England Clapham Common

12 July Strathallan Scotland Strathallan Castle

14 July Cork Ireland The Docklands

16 July Lisbon Portugal Parque das Nações

17 July Benicàssim Spain Benicàssim Festival Grounds

19 July Suffolk England Henham Park

Tour setlist:

01. Do the Damage

02. (Stranded On) The Wrong Beach

03. Everybody’s on the Run

04. Fade Away (Oasis)

05. In the Heat of the Moment

06. Lock All the Doors

07. Riverman

08. The Death of You and Me

09. You Know We Can’t Go Back

10. Champagne Supernova (Oasis)

11. Ballad of the Mighty I

12. Dream On

13. The Dying of the Light

14. The Mexican

15. AKA… Broken Arrow

16. Digsy’s Dinner (Oasis)

17. If I Had a Gun…

[encore break]

18. The Masterplan (Oasis)

19. AKA… What a Life!

20. Don’t Look Back in Anger (Oasis)

In Americana music the present is female. Two-thirds of our year-end list is comprised of albums by women. Here, then, are the women (and a few men) who represented the best in Americana in 2017.

If a single moment best illustrates the current divide between Americana music and mainstream country music, it was Sturgill Simpson busking in the street outside the CMA Awards in Nashville. While Simpson played his guitar and sang in a sort of renegade-outsider protest, Garth Brooks was onstage lip-syncindg his way to Entertainer of the Year. Americana music is, of course, a sprawling range of roots genres that incorporates traditional aspects of country, blues, soul, bluegrass, etc., but often represents an amalgamation or reconstitution of those styles. But one common aspect of the music that Simpson appeared to be championing during his bit of street theater is the independence, artistic purity, and authenticity at the heart of Americana music. Clearly, that spirit is alive and well in the hundreds of releases each year that could be filed under Americana's vast umbrella.

Keep reading... Show less

From genre-busting electronic music to new highs in the ever-evolving R&B scene, from hip-hop and Americana to rock and pop, 2017's music scenes bestowed an embarrassment of riches upon us.

60. White Hills - Stop Mute Defeat (Thrill Jockey)

White Hills epic '80s callback Stop Mute Defeat is a determined march against encroaching imperial darkness; their eyes boring into the shadows for danger but they're aware that blinding lights can kill and distort truth. From "Overlord's" dark stomp casting nets for totalitarian warnings to "Attack Mode", which roars in with the tribal certainty that we can survive the madness if we keep our wits, the record is a true and timely win for Dave W. and Ego Sensation. Martin Bisi and the poster band's mysterious but relevant cool make a great team and deliver one of their least psych yet most mind destroying records to date. Much like the first time you heard Joy Division or early Pigface, for example, you'll experience being startled at first before becoming addicted to the band's unique microcosm of dystopia that is simultaneously corrupting and seducing your ears. - Morgan Y. Evans

Keep reading... Show less

This week on our games podcast, Nick and Eric talk about the joy and frustration of killing Nazis in Wolfenstein: The New Order.

This week, Nick and Eric talk about the joy and frustration of killing Nazis in Wolfenstein: The New Order.

Keep reading... Show less

The husband and wife duo DEGA center their latest slick synthpop soundscape around the concept of love in all of its stages.

Kalen and Aslyn Nash are an indie pop super-couple if there ever were such a thing. Before becoming as a musical duo themselves, the husband and wife duo put their best feet forward with other projects that saw them acclaim. Kalen previously provided his chops as a singer-songwriter to the Georgia Americana band, Ponderosa. Meanwhile, Aslyn was signed as a solo artist to Capitol while also providing background vocals for Ke$ha. Now, they're blending all of those individual experiences together in their latest project, DEGA.

Keep reading... Show less

On "Restless Mind", Paul Luc establishes himself as an exceptional 21st century bard who knows his way around evoking complex emotions in song.

The folk-rock swing of Paul Luc's upcoming Bad Seed is representative of the whole human condition. Following his previous track release in "Slow Dancing", the Pittsburgh singer-songwriter is sharing another mid-tempo, soulful number. This time, it describes the way too familiar feelings of uncertainty and diversion can, at times, sneak up on all of us.

Keep reading... Show less
Pop Ten
Mixed Media
PM Picks

© 1999-2017 All rights reserved.
Popmatters is wholly independently owned and operated.