DJ Graffiti: Bling Free Volume 3: "It's Official!"

Justin Cober-Lake

DJ Graffiti

Bling Free Volume 3: "It's Official!"

Label: Bling Free
US Release Date: 2004-02-04
UK Release Date: Available as import

DJ Graffiti -- who also spins, emcees, and plays percussion -- has been building his reputation through his series of underground mixtapes. With Bling Free Volume 3: "It's Official!", his first legitimate release, Graffiti continues his goal of presenting little-known acts that support his vision of a "Hip-hop community that is extremely self-sufficient", that "shines on its own". This world necessitates people who are freed from the allure of bling. Graffiti explains the idea of being Bling Free by saying that it means that "you control the bling in your life, it does not control you". While Graffiti's vision might be a little cloudy, you'll forget it once you spin this disc.

Making a mixtape for a friend seldom involves anything more precise than following the basic High Fidelity guidelines and making sure you can fit on all the songs you're digging at the moment. Making a professional mix, though, can be an art form, as Graffiti demonstrates. He perfectly sequences his selections (most of which are under three minutes), letting one track flow smoothly into the next, usually with the beats matched and the tone continuous. Smooth blending connects most songs, but occasional segues include an artist's acknowledgement of the DJ, who has done a nearly flawless job in his perfection.

While Graffiti focuses primarily on the unknown, he does include some tracks from established artists. The ever-changing-always-enjoyable MF Doom shows up with Izreal on "Pop Quiz", a track from Mic Planet Sessions. Doom's already put out one of this year's best albums, and he doesn't disappoint here with this heavy-mouthed rhymes. His Madvillainy partner Madlib shows up as a producer on Diverse's "Ain't Right". The initial portion of the mix closes with "Share This" from Soul Position, which is hot producer RJD2 and smooth emcee Blueprint. Two other acts that have a larger audience -- Dilated Peoples and Boom Bap Project -- provide tracks that have previously been almost unavailable (Dilated Peoples' "Bullet Train" was on a Japanese release).

The joy of a mixtape doesn't lie in listening to stars but in discovering new acts, and Graffiti provides plenty of opportunity to do so over these 38 tracks. The first group that stands out shows up on only the third track. The Procussions dropped their debut ... As Iron Sharpens Iron last fall, and Graffiti has pulled that disc's best song, "Just Over Broke", for Bling Free Vol. 3. The song's themes of poverty and struggling to find honor fits with Graffiti's ideas, and the old-school sound prepares listeners for the many jazzy tracks that are to follow.

One of the mix's other highlights shows up near the mid-way point. Now On's previously unreleased "Stop" features two MC's switching off on lead and supporting roles and they come out fast with their challenge: "I'm sick of these MC's coming some assembly required / With no flow / And no soul". Now On offers, instead, "soundwaves transforming the game", and explains the refusal to sign with an big label ("All about the marketing from the hair-dos to the shoes ... you said, 'Fuck making good tunes'") if it means modifying the message.

It would be too easy to get caught up in listing on the good tracks on the mix, though, and the disc has me feeling too good to convince myself that there are any duds on here. Instead, I'm going to just skip to the final eight tracks, which are actually a "Bonus Mix" based on Graffiti's radio program "The Vibe". These tracks are smoother and gentler than anything on the first three-quarters of the disc, and for the most part, they're not as interesting, whether being an ode to sex or just a mellow groove. Not surprisingly, JayDee produced this section's best track, Phat Kat's "Destiny". The song isn't particularly exciting, but the sparse production, slow hook, and romantic narrative wrap things up solidly.

DJ Graffiti wraps up Bling Free Volume 3 with a request to support these artists. He's not strict in his request: if you have to download, buy a ticket; if you get a free ticket buy a t-shirt. He doesn't need to put up much argument, though, because the tracks are their own best advocate.





Ruben Fleischer's 'Venom' Has No Bite

Ruben Fleischer's toothless antihero film, 'Venom' is like a blockbuster from 15 years earlier: one-dimensional, loose plot, inconsistent tone, and packaged in the least-offensive, most mass appeal way possible. Sigh.


Cordelia Strube's 'Misconduct of the Heart' Palpitates with Dysfunction

Cordelia Strube's 11th novel, Misconduct of the Heart, depicts trauma survivors in a form that's compelling but difficult to digest.


Reaching For the Vibe: Sonic Boom Fears for the Planet on 'All Things Being Equal'

Sonic Boom is Peter Kember, a veteran of 1980s indie space rockers Spacemen 3, as well as Spectrum, E.A.R., and a whole bunch of other fascinating stuff. On his first solo album in 30 years, he urges us all to take our foot off the gas pedal.


Old British Films, Boring? Pshaw!

The passage of time tends to make old films more interesting, such as these seven films of the late '40s and '50s from British directors John Boulting, Carol Reed, David Lean, Anthony Kimmins, Charles Frend, Guy Hamilton, and Leslie Norman.


Inventions' 'Continuous Portrait' Blurs the Grandiose and the Intimate

Explosions in the Sky and Eluvium side project, Inventions are best when they are navigating the distinction between modes in real-time on Continuous Portrait.


Willie Jones Blends Country-Trap With Classic Banjo-Picking on "Trainwreck" (premiere)

Country artist Willie Jones' "Trainwreck" is an accessible summertime breakup tune that coolly meshes elements of the genre's past, present, and future.


2011's 'A Different Compilation' and 2014 Album 'The Way' Are a Fitting Full Stop to Buzzcocks Past

In the conclusion of our survey of the post-reformation career of Buzzcocks, PopMatters looks at the final two discs of Cherry Red Records' comprehensive retrospective box-set.


Elysia Crampton Creates an Unsettlingly Immersive Experience with ​'Ocorara 2010'

On Ocorara 2010, producer Elysia Crampton blends deeply meditative drones with "misreadings" of Latinx poets such as Jaime Saenz and Juan Roman Jimenez


Indie Folk's Mt. Joy Believe That Love Will 'Rearrange Us'

Through vibrant imagery and inventive musicality, Rearrange Us showcases Americana band Mt. Joy's growth as individuals and musicians.


"Without Us? There's No Music": An Interview With Raul Midón

Raul Midón discusses the fate of the art in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic. "This is going to shake things up in ways that could be very positive. Especially for artists," he says.


The Fall Go Transatlantic with 'Reformation! Post-TLC'

The Fall's Reformation! Post-TLC, originally released in 2007, teams Mark E. Smith with an almost all-American band, who he subsequently fired after a few months, leaving just one record and a few questions behind.


Masaki Kobayashi's 'Kwaidan' Horror Films Are Horrifically Beautiful

The four haunting tales of Masaki Kobayashi's Kwaidan are human and relatable, as well as impressive at a formal and a technical level.

Collapse Expand Reviews

Collapse Expand Features
PM Picks
Collapse Expand Pm Picks

© 1999-2020 All rights reserved.
PopMatters is wholly independent, women-owned and operated.