Earth Electric – ‘Vol.1: Solar’ (album stream) (premiere)

Former Mayhem guitarist returns with an exciting symphonic metal outfit that thrills with its emotional and music range.

Friday, May 12, sees the release of Earth Electric’s Vol.1: Solar on Season of Mist, which we are streaming it in its entirety now. The group finds former Mayhem guitarist Rune Ericksen teaming with highly respected Portuguese musicians Alexandre Ribeiro (bass, Grog Neoplasmah) and Ricardo Martins (drums, Jibóia) as well as London-based keyboardist Dan Knight (Messenger). Joined by vocalist Carmen Simoes (ex-Ava Inferi), the symphonic rock outfit blends the best stained glass elements of succinct, classic progressive rock with the power of unapologetic metal, culminating in an album that appeals to a broad base of listeners while never losing its integrity.

The opening “Mountains & Conquerors (pt2)” often recalls Randy Rhoads-era Ozzy with liberal doses of classical influences evident in Ericksen’s riffs and Simoes’ otherworldly singing. Central to the LP’s artistic success is Ericksen’s impressive cache of bedrock riffs and emotionally charged runs that never overstay their welcome. “Meditate. Meditate” and “The Great Vast” temper moments of disquiet with passages of beautifully executed and cinematically inspired playing. With the Martins/Ribeiro rhythm section delivering coffin-tight performances and Knight bringing colorful, soulful tinges to the mix, one is reminded of Opeth and Mastodon in their finest hours while catching glimpses of Epica and even a mightier, female fronted Uriah Heep.

The undeniable infectiousness of “Sabbatical Moons” and the dramatic, primal stirrings of “Solar” will only deepen your appreciation for what Earth Electric has forged here while raising hopes for many returns from this most memorable group.

Vol.1: Solar releases May 12th via Season of Mist.


01. Mountains & Conquerors (pt2)

02. The Endless Road

03. Meditate. Mediate

04. The Great Vast

05. Set Sail (Towards The Sun)

06. Solar

07. Sabbatical Moons

08. Earthrise

09. Sweet Soul Gathering