End of Love – ‘Ghosts on the Radio’ (audio stream) (premiere)

Members of Big Star, Sonic Youth, and Wilco feature prominently on the latest album by the indie supergroup.

Big Star drummer Jody Stephens and former Sonic Youth guitarist Lee Ranaldo feature prominently in End of Love with their colleagues, bassist Irwin Menken and guitarist Jay Deegan. Their new album Ghosts on the Radio features a bevy of guest contributors, including Nels Cline of Wilco, Chris Stamey of the dB’s, and singers Skylar Gudasz, Django Haskins, Karlie Bruce, and Elisa Peimer. The combination of powerpop, country, and art rock might seem eclectic on paper, but the album turns out to be startlingly beautiful, which you can hear in its entirety below.

“We are really happy to see this record out in the world,” says Menken. “It took us longer than we expected to get it done. While everyone involved was enthusiastic and happy to play, it was a challenge to coordinate the schedules of so many talented and busy artists. We hope you enjoy listening to it as much as we enjoyed making it.”