Hot 8 Brass Band - "Can't Nobody Get Down" (video) (premiere)

Photo: Melissa Fargo

Legendary New Orleans brass band, the Hot 8 Brass Band, brings the joy with their new single "Can't Nobody Get Down" off new LP On the Spot.

The Hot 8 Brass Band is legendary in New Orleans having played together for more than 20 years. The NOLA brass band has spread the gospel far and wide for this multicultural art form born in the streets of the Crescent City. Hot 8 Brass Band's new album On the Spot released last Friday via Tru Thoughts and the group is touring the US and Europe all the way into May.

"Can't Nobody Get Down" is Hot 8 Brass Band's new song and it depicts the musicians in full performance mode, powering an energetic and funky street parade that sees everyone dancing and strutting their stuff. The beats get your backside in motion, and the heady party atmosphere places a big old happy grin on your face. Brass band music of the highest caliber such as this mainly celebrates life, the joys, and the pains, but mostly it gives you a natural high that no drug could ever replicate.

Hot 8 Brass Band tells PopMatters about "Can't Nobody Get Down": "That was us letting people know that you can’t get down like we do, that our musical arrangement and the way we perform is the best out there. When we play this in New Orleans, you can imagine 200 people coming down the street chanting, “Can’t nobody get down!” It’s a powerful thing. Ain’t nobody rock like my band."


4 Apr The Roundhouse, London (UK)

5 Apr The Quarterhouse, Folkestone (UK)

6 Apr Rescue Rooms, Nottingham (UK)

7 Apr Invisible Wind Factory, Liverpool (UK)

8 Apr Old Granada Studios, Manchester (UK)

9 Apr Guild Hall, Preston (UK)

11 Apr Liquid Room, Edinburgh (UK)

12 Apr O2 ABC, Glasgow (UK)

13 Apr The Wardrobe, Leeds (UK)

14 Apr O2 Academy, Birmingham (UK)

16 Apr Transatlantik Festival, Hamburg (GER)

19 Apr Webster Hall Marlin Room, New York, NY (USA)

20 Apr Jammin' Java, Vienna, VA (USA)

21 Apr Milkboy, Philadelphia, PA (USA)

22 Apr ONCE Ballroom, Somerville, MA (USA)

29 Apr Katowice Jazz Art, Katowice (PL)

1 May Cheltenham Jazz Festival, Cheltenham (UK)

2 May O2 Academy Sheffield, Sheffield (UK)

3 May The Fleece, Bristol (UK)

4 May Tramshed, Cardiff (UK)

5 May The Factory, Barnstaple (UK)

8 May Boiler shop, Newcastle (UK)

9 May The Welly, Hull (UK)

10 May Warwick Arts Centre, Warwick (UK)

1 May Pocklington Arts Centre, Pocklington (UK)

12 May The Soundcrash Funk & Soul Weekender, Camber Sands (UK)

17 May New Morning, Paris (FR)

19 May Open Air, Voiron (FR) [EARLY SHOW]

19 May Le Fil – Radio Nova Nuit Zébrée, St Etienne (FR) [LATE SHOW]

20 May Rush, Rouen (FR)

27 May Denver Day of Rock, Denver, CO (USA)

30 May The Crocodile, Seattle, WA (USA)

31 May Wonder Ballroom, Portland, OR (USA)

1 June The Dip, Redding, CA (USA)

2 June The Independent, San Francisco, CA (USA)

3 June Saint Rocke, Hermosa Beach, CA (USA)

4 June House Of Blues San Diego - Voodoo Room, San Diego, CA (USA)

7 June Antone's, Austin, TX (USA)

8 June Warehouse Live, Houston, TX (USA)

10 June House of Blues, New Orleans, LA (USA) HOMETOWN RECORD RELEASE PARTY

PM Picks
Pop Ten

© 1999-2020 All rights reserved.
Popmatters is wholly independently owned and operated.