Jay Som and Justus Proffit Play an Indie Rock Jam Session on 'Nothing's Changed'

Photo: Kris Kirk / Courtesy of Grandstand Media

Jay Som and Justus Proffit join forces on Nothing's Changed, a low pressure collaboration worthy of a listen.

Nothing's Changed
Jay Som and Justus Proffit


28 September 2018

A casual affair is the best affair. As in, when pressure is non-existent, something natural can bloom, sans expectations. As a 20-something, my favorite thing to do was grab a few instruments, go to a friend's house, and then record some on-the-spot songs. On the way home, I would be listening to something I just created that I could not have dreamed up just hours earlier. Nothing's more refreshing than creation, and doing so under soft conditions is even better. Listening to Jay Som's and Justus Proffit's new collaborative EP, Nothing's Changed, I get a vibe of that lazy Saturday jam session, that dank basement with instrument cords and microphones strewn all about. That chill bond of the musical minds.

Jay Som is just barely short of a superstar at this point. She may not get recognized in random aisles of Target, but she is definitely in the back of the mind of all the indie rock nerds, and deservedly so. Everybody Works, her second full-length for Polyvinyl, dropped tons of sick melodies and hot guitar all over the unsuspecting masses. It was a common favorite of 2016 quite easily. Justus Proffit is much less known, yet he's interesting in his own right. All the reviews of him mention Elliott Smith, and it makes sense. He plays a lot of acoustic guitar and sings in a quiet, high register. Their collaboration was just one calling the other and them meeting up. No pressure, no stress.

Nothing's Changed, as much as it is a work of both artists, definitely hedges closest to Jay Som's prior discography. It's mostly guitar-led indie rock with a dominant backbeat. It's a little unclear who plays what throughout each song, but just the presence of Jay Som must inspire great guitar work because every song highlights the instrument somewhere in the mix. Although, the album does give the artists time to play around with textures. "Nothing's Changed" is laid back acoustic driven groove that lets a horn play out the song's end. "Tunnel Vision" is a slow burn, but the fuse burns quickly, and then they just let the song simmer in its own groove for a minute, growing and growing until it nearly pops. Elsewhere, "Invisible Friends" sounds like a White Album outtake. As slack as the creation process was, there's really no slack in the songs presented here.

The best comes last. "Grow" starts with a drone, but soon the drums roll in like the squad picking you up for the party. Then the cheesy keyboard part takes over. It's just about as joyful as it can get. Also, here's some lyrics from the chorus: "I feel fine. Don't ask me why I feel fine. I just wanna waste, waste your time." Then there's a keyboard solo dripping with irony, followed by a guitar solo that plain rips. It's fun. Who knows if there will be any more work between these two musicians. Doesn't really matter. It's nothing revelatory here. Just a few chill tunes cranked out in a bedroom studio. "Does that make sense?" Jay Som asks at the end "Grow". "That's perfect," Proffit replies.





The Texas Gentlemen Share the Powerful and Soulful "Last Call" (premiere)

Eclectic Texas band, the Texas Gentlemen return with a vibrant, imaginative LP that resists musical boundaries. Hear their latest epic single, "Last Call".


Vincent Cross Pays Tribute to Folk Hero via "King Corcoran" (premiere)

Gangs of New York-era James "The Rooster" Corcoran was described as the terror of New York's east side. His descendent, Vincent Cross, retells his story with a "modern dark fairy tale".


Eddy Lee Ryder Gets Lonely and Defiant with "Expected to Fly" (premiere)

Eddy Lee Ryder explores the loss of friendship and refusal to come of age, cloaked in the deeply dramatic and powerful song, "Expected to Fly".


Rock 'n' Roll with Chinese Characteristics: Nirvana Behind the Great Wall

Like pretty much everywhere else in the pop music universe, China's developing rock scene changed after Nirvana. It's just that China's rockers didn't get the memo in 1991, nor would've known what to do with it, then.


Creative Disruption in 'Portrait of a Lady on Fire'

Portrait of a Lady on Fire yearns to burn tyrannical gendered tradition to ash and remake it into something collaborative and egalitarian.


Fave Five: The Naked and Famous

Following two members leaving the group in 2018, synthpop mavens the Naked and Famous are down to a duo for the first time ever and discuss the records they turned to help make their aptly-named fourth record, Recover.

Evan Sawdey

Fleetwood Dissects the European Mindset in His Moody, Disturbing Thriller, 'A Young Fair God'

Hugh Fleetwood's difficult though absorbing A Young Fair God offers readers a look into the age-old world views that have established and perpetuated cultural rank and the social attitudes that continue to divide us wherever we may reside in the world.


Art Feynman Creates Refreshing Worldbeat Pop on 'Half Price at 3:30'

On Half Price at 3:30, Art Feynman again proves himself adept at building colorful worlds from unexpected and well-placed aural flourishes.


The Beths Are Sharp As Ever on 'Jump Rope Gazers'

New Zealand power-poppers the Beths return with a sophomore album that makes even the most senior indie-rock acts feel rudimentary by comparison.


Jessie Ware Returns to Form on 'What's Your Pleasure'

On What's Your Pleasure, Jessie Ware returns to where it all began, the dance floor.


The Jayhawks Offer Us Some 'XOXO'

The Jayhawks offer 12-plus songs on XOXO to help listeners who may be alone and scared by reminding us that we are all alone together.


Steve McDonald Remembers the Earliest Days of Redd Kross

Steve McDonald talks about the year that produced the first Redd Kross EP, an early eighth-grade graduation show with a then-unknown Black Flag, and a punk scene that welcomed and defined him.

Collapse Expand Reviews

Collapse Expand Features
PM Picks
Collapse Expand Pm Picks

© 1999-2020 All rights reserved.
PopMatters is wholly independent, women-owned and operated.