Joan Armatrading – “The Weakness in Me” (audio) (premiere)

British singer-songwriter Joan Armatrading returns with a new live release, as well as music for a Shakespeare production in London.

Legendary British singer-songwriter Joan Armatrading returns with a new DVD and CD release, Me Myself I World Tour, that documents and highlights the artist’s 2014/2015 solo world tour, which is that last major tour of her long and storied career. This set was recorded at Washington D.C.’s the Barns at Wolf Trap and she played her biggest hits and crowd favorites. The combo package will release November 11th via 429 Records. Today we’re sharing “The Weakness in Me” performed live. The song appeared originally on her 1981 album, Walk Under Ladders, which featured Thomas Dolby on synths and XTC’s Andy Partridge on guitar.

Meanwhile, Armatrading has also created the music for a new production of The Tempest at the always fabulous Donmar Warehouse theatre in London’s Covent Garden. That music, The Tempest Songs, is available from iTunes now.

Me Myself I World Tour Track Listing

01. All the Way From America

02. Mama Mercy

03. My Baby’s Gone

04. Down To Zero

05. In These Times

06. Steppin’ Out

07. Kissin’ and a Huggin’

08. The Weakness in Me

09. Empty Highway

10. Woncha Come on Home

11. Love and Affection

12. Rosie

13. My Myself I

14. Drop the Pilot

15. Willow

The Tempest Songs Track Listing

01. Come unto these yellow sands—Ariel

02. Full fathom five thy father lies—Ariel

03. I shall no more to sea—Stephano

04. The mother, the swabber, the boatswain and I—Stephano

05. No more dams I’ll make for fish—Caliban

06. Flout ‘em and scout ‘em (round)—Trinculo, Stephano, Caliban

07. Flout ‘em and scout ‘em (round –trumpet, flute, steel pans

08. Marvelous and sweet music (dream banquet)—open music with pans

09. Thunder and lightning (dream banquet vanishes)—angular music

10. Bride’s fanfare

11. Juno ‘honour, riches, marriage blessing

12. Ceres ‘earth’s increase, foison plenty’

13. The wedding dance

14. Where the bee sucks there suck i—Ariel

15. The drone—Ariel