Various Artists: Pop Ambient 2018

Here comes another Kompakt Pop Ambient collection to make life just a little more bearable.

Another (extremely rough) year has come and gone, which means that the German electronic music label Kompakt gets to roll out their annual Total and Pop Ambient compilations for us all.

Various Artists
Pop Ambient 2018
Release Date: 17 Nov 2017

Each installment of the Pop Ambient series features exclusive isolationist dreamscapes from members of the label's roster, blending newcomers with veteran acts. Everything blends together very well for the most part, and the 2018 edition is no exception. That's not to say that there aren't any standouts.

T.Raumschmiere's "Eterna" leans a little bit closer to Boyd Rice's idea of ambient music than Brian Eno's. The Orb's "The Sky is Falling" opts out of the isolationist approach with some murky samples to guide the way. Fresco + Pfeiffer's "Splinter" is stillness itself. Jens-Uwe Beyer ventures down a deep dark cave on "Athos" while Yui Onodera's "Prism" is a piece of untethered euphoria.

In other words, Kompakt shoots and scores again.

Pop Ten
Mixed Media
PM Picks

© 1999-2018 All rights reserved.
Popmatters is wholly independently owned and operated.