Tags
Books

'Looking for The Stranger': Sometimes the Truth Is as Strange as the Fiction

Aspiring writers with ambition to shape the philosophies of the future can benefit from Camus as both an inspiration and a cautionary tale.

Recent
Reviews

Outsiders and Marxists and Nazis 'At the Existentialist Cafe'

When it comes to reconstructing the lived experience of historical figures and philosophers, the devil is in the details, and the devil is probably a Nazi.

Film

Why Does Paul Bowles' 70-Year-Old Existential Masterpiece Continue to Test Our Limits?

The Sheltering Sky is itself a test of limits: its form is an exploration of how far one can go in novel writing.

Books

Glen Duncan's Existential Horror Is So Good, It's a Curse

These characters navigate a constellation of theological ruins and failed rationalizations, wherein existential nausea must do battle with the hunger of the werewolf Curse.

Books

Übermensch and Übermonk

Adrian Monk is slave to his obsessions, but he’s the master of his self. He's possibly even the master of the future of humanity.

Books

Big Machine by Victor LaValle

Victor LaValle’s second novel is a Da Vinci Code for fans of Haruki Murakami and Chappelle’s Show.


Reviews
Collapse Expand Reviews



Features
Collapse Expand Features

PM Picks
Collapse Expand Pm Picks

© 1999-2020 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters is wholly independent, women-owned and operated.