Please donate to help save PopMatters. We are moving to WordPress in January out of necessity and need your help.

Stream Seminal Punk Band Terminal Mind's New Compilation 'Recordings' (premiere)

Photo: Ken Hoge

Between 1978 and 1981, Terminal Mind helped shape the future of American punk rock and new compilation suggests the group is still at the cutting edge.

Formed in 1978, in the first blast of Texas punk, Terminal Mind sounds remarkably fresh and prescient today, more than three decades since the group splintered in the heat of the Lone Star sun. In its short, happy life, Terminal Mind recorded a series of catchy but aggressive songs that earned the group opening slots with Iggy Pop and drew comparisons to John Cale, Wire and Pere Ubu. A new collection, Recordings, features a rare four-song seven-inch single as well as previously unreleased studio ventures and material previously heard on the underground classic Live at Raul's.

Listening to the clang and clamor of “Zombieland", one can hear the skeleton of R.E.M. and other bands that crawled from the Athens scene. In “Sense of Rhythm" one can detect influences similar to the unsung Kansas punks the Embarrassment, a burst of energy that's somewhere between the garage and the Silver Factory. “Black" predicts much of Steve Albini's bleakest sonic explorations while casting an ear to Manchester and the sounds of Joy Division and its ilk.

The group initially existed as a trio with Steve Marsh joining brothers Doug and Greg Murray, then added synthesizer maestro Jack Crow. Across the years, Marsh would be involved in Miracle Room and Evil Triplet while Doug Murray would become a member of the Skunks and his brother spent time with the Big Boys. (Crow passed in 1984.)

This lovingly remastered collection, Recordings is available as LP, CD and digital download via Sonic Surgery Records on 19 January and may be ordered here.


01. I Want to Die Young

02. Refugee

03. Sense of Rhythm

04. Zombieland

05. Obsessed With Crime

06. Fear In the Future

07. Radioactive

08. Bridges Are For Burning

09. (I Give Up On) Human Rights

10. Black

11. Missing Pieces

12. Bureaucracy

Please Donate to Help Save PopMatters

PopMatters have been informed by our current technology provider that we have to move off their service. We are moving to WordPress and a new host, but we really need your help to fund the move and further development.





© 1999-2020 PopMatters Media, Inc. All rights reserved. PopMatters is wholly independent, women-owned and operated.

Collapse Expand Features

Collapse Expand Reviews

PM Picks
Collapse Expand Pm Picks

© 1999-2020 All rights reserved.
PopMatters is wholly independent, women-owned and operated.