Tommy '86 - "L.V.T.H.N. Central Unit" (audio) (premiere)

Hear "L.V.T.H.N. Central Unit" from Tommy '86's upcoming LP, Transhumanism.

Tommy ’86 will release Transhumanism on October 28 via Blood Music, though a taste from the record, "L.V.T.H.N. Central Unit" is available now. Heavily influenced by the synthesized sounds of the 1980s, the French musician has been active since 2011. Creating records with pulsing, Euro disco sounds and a sense of adventure and humor, TOMMY ’86 calls to mind the recent work of John Carpenter, and, at times, Zombi.

"L.V.T.H.N. Central Unit" showcases Tommy ‘86’s ability to create narrative through song as moves the listener through passages of celebratory bliss to encounters with darker, less well-intentioned forces. Fitting for a track that appears on a narrative-driven album, Transhumanism. Set in the machine-dominated world of 2332, the story involves the The L.V.T.H.N. Project, a group intent on emulating the human brain. In the grand tradition of classic man-and-science stories, something goes horribly wrong when the brain learns to think for itself and quickly surpasses human intelligence.

Across this tune and across the rest of the masterfully-constructed record, Tommy ’86 fully immerses in the world of his imagination. We listen at full attention, eager to discover what happens next, both hopeful and horrified. "L.V.T.H.N. Central Unit", “The Last Judgement” and “Command and Control” are but three of the pieces that inspire gooseflesh upon first and repeated listens. TOMMY '86 has just given us an undeniable masterpiece in his discography but a record that music lovers will be discussing and dissecting for some time to come. Likely to inspire an army of clones, TOMMY ’86 is already a singular voice in his brand of cinematic synth music. Call it that or call it darksynth, it will undoubtedly change your brain chemistry.

Featuring guest appearances from Dan Terminus and Perturbator (and with assistance from Dynatron), Transhumanism eagerly awaits its audience.


01. The Rise

02. Citymulation (feat. Perturbator)

03. Sequential Slavery (feat. Dan Terminus)

04. Animus and Assimilation

05. L.V.T.H.N. Central Unit

06. Command and Control

07. Doppelgänger

08. A.I. Takeover

09. The Last Judgment

10. The Shutdown of Humanity

11. No Man's Earth

12. Transhumanism

Pop Ten
Mixed Media
PM Picks

© 1999-2020 All rights reserved.
Popmatters is wholly independently owned and operated.